An engineering question for you engineer gurus

Rockdoc
Tricycles are Cool
My Bike: 2002 VS1400GLP

An engineering question for you engineer gurus

Post by Rockdoc »

Hi all y'all,

I have a technical question about the basic design of the V-twin engine in my Intruder. First I'll make it clear, the bike is very well made, I really like the drive shaft and I love the low end torque. Having owned many motorcycles over the years I'm still astounded by the reported longevity built into these bikes. As some of you may know if you've read some of my other posts, I purchased the bike as a fixer-upper, basically as a mental distraction from having lost my son to brain cancer in May. In fact I call it my Suzuki Distraction. After screwing with the carburetors for weeks in the relentless Arizona sun I finally got the bike running good... about a week before cold weather arrived. I live at 4,650' so yes it does get cold here.

I'm a retired geologist who's also worked on cars, motorcycles, and boats all his life. Even at 75 years of age I still do 95% of my own vehicle maintenance. My technical question is, why didn't they engineer the bike like the standard V-twin with cylinders that are mirror images of each other. With the mirror image arrangement you only have to fit the bike with one carburetor and in doing so there's one less carburetor to cause problems and none of that carburetor synchronization nonsense. BTW, I did teach myself how to synchronize the carburetors. Between burying the carbs under the gas tank and other assorted mechanical clutter and then having to resynchronize them each time I worked on them, which was often because they were a gummed up mess from the bike having sat for 5-6 years, it was much greater distraction than I'd ever dreamed of.

I guess I'm complaining, but it astounds me that the Suzuki engineers would create such a beautiful well built bike and then equip it with the cylinder layout that it has.