Differences between models GLF/GLP etc

Cerberus73
Practicing Bicycling
My Bike: 1986 VS1400

Differences between models GLF/GLP etc

Post by Cerberus73 »

This may be a dumb question, but i have googled and no joy. I want to start drawing up full colour vector art versions of the Wiring Diagrams for the various 1400 Intruders (I'm a Graphic Designer by Profession) as the existing diagrams are black and white and the few coloured versions i have seen are low resolution. On other bikes I have owned, I did diagrams for them onto A3 paper (11.69 x 16.53 inches for the non metric folks) and laminated them for wipe clean ease.

First off i really want to understand the differences between the various models of the bike, I have a 86 Registration (probably 87.. its a grey import to UK from US I think, she got here to UK in 1992 according to paperwork) so it makes finding the correct diagram problematic.

What is the obvious identifiers between the GLP and GLF designations, and are there any instant "tells" between UK and Euro, US, Canadian spec bikes etc? I do know my headlight switch does not allow you to turn the headlight off, just main beam and dip, where all my other UK spec bikes (Suzuki GS500's, Honda C90, MZ ETZ 250) all let me turn the headlight off completely.. and since the Intruder is the only known import, I assume this was a market difference to spec.

If my bike is a US spec VS1400 for 86/87 what specific model would it be?

And if anyone would like to purchase a large format copy of the wiring diagrams, I would be willing to draw up versions for other Intruders if there was enough demand. doing these things is time consuming. last one I did for another model took best part of 3 days work to get it looking great.

Lechy
FLAT TIRE!
My Bike: VS800 Honda Phantom 200

Re: Differences between models GLF/GLP etc

Post by Lechy »

This may help you find your model.

http://www.suzukicycles.org/Intruder/VS ... uder.shtml

[emoji41]
Grow old disgracefully young man.