Fly fishing

Keep it civil
Tbeck
Joined a 1200cc Club
My Bike: Concours 1400

Fly fishing

Post by Tbeck »

Anyone else do any fly fishing?
I just started fly fishing in October so I am very new to the whole thing. However since October I have spent around 3-4 days each week in the creek fishing for steelhead. Starting to get a little bit of an idea about what flies work and in what water condition's, and what colors.
April 6th was the opening day of trout so I have switched gears to trout versus steelhead. Lighter leader and tippet but surprisingly the trout appear to like the same small nymphs that the steelhead like. I've been running a tandem fly rig like I use standard for steelhead and it's working very well. There's some small technique changes but for the most part not much difference between fishing steelhead or trout.
I'm working on the proper way to mend in line after casting for trout. With steelhead I just do an upstream or downstream mend during the drift, but for trout I'm mending in line as it drifts. Subtle difference's.
Anyhow if anyone has any suggestions for fly fishing please chime in, advice is definitely welcome.

PS....caught 3 nice brownies on 4/6 and caught 15 brownies on my birthday 4/7, so I must be doing something right. I don't keep them, strictly catch and release, non-barbed hooks on my flies.

Tbeck
Joined a 1200cc Club

Re: Fly fishing

Post by Tbeck »

Nobody here does fly fishing?

navigator
Joined a 1100cc Club
My Bike: VS800

Post by navigator »

We don't fish for them, they just show up every spring. :Cool:

Tbeck
Joined a 1200cc Club

Post by Tbeck »

Knew that was coming.....

Okay since you wanna be that way.....

Take a bath and they won't :Cool:

Suzuki Johnny
Joined a 1200cc Club
My Bike: 2020 Tri Glide Ultra Harley

Post by Suzuki Johnny »